top of page
  • Facebook Metallic
  • Twitter Metallic
  • YouTube Metallic
  • Soundcloud Metallic
  • Myspace Metallic
  • Instagram Metallic

About Afro Elements :


Afro Elements have been performing as a band since 1995, with their first single - the ‘Chocolat’ EP being released on Internal Bass records in 2000. The title track was licensed around the world for many compilations, most notably on Nude Dimensions 2 compilation on Naked Music NYC.


Many of the band were also the live band for the studio based project Mr.Gone, which saw the release of two albums, ‘Looking at The Future in The Rear View Mirror’ (Internal Bass - UK) and ‘Fresh Out The Box’ (Run Records / Lakeshore Entertainment - USA).


Since then many of the group’s members recorded an album under the name Black Gold Massive, releasing the acclaimed soul album ‘Stories’ on Major Menace (USA) which featured as the main vocalist Cindy Mizelle (Beyoncé, Steely Dan, Masters at Work).



They then went on to release their own debut album, ‘It Remains To Be Seen’ on Freestyle Records (UK), and on Swanky Records (Japan). The album featured 26 musicians and also had a guest appearance by legendary keyboard player Jeff Lorber.


In addition to recording and playing concerts all over Europe, the guys spent three years working with Stuart Wade performing concerts under the project name Down To The Bone, playing concerts in the UK, Switzerland, Bulgaria and Japan.



Afro Elements have also got a reputation as the backing band of choice to a few visiting Blue Note artists, most famously Eddie Henderson, trumpet (Herbie Hancock, Pharoah Sanders); Gary Bartz, sax (Miles Davis, Art Blakey, Norman Connors); and also Reuben Wilson, organ (Melvin Sparks, Idris Muhammad, Donald Byrd).


Their second album 'Out Of The Centre', due out in early 2014, features guest guitarist Barry Finnerty (formerly of The Crusaders & The Brecker Brothers), along with vocalist Fraser Jowle (JD73), trumpeter Graeme Flowers (The Sunburst Band) & saxophonist Andy Ross (Incognito). The album contains 10 tracks - 9 original compositions, and a cover version of the Beatles’ ‘Eleanor Rigby’. The band are now in the early stages of recording their third album.




The new CD by Afro Elements once again features a large brass section, in addition to two new vocalists. The album also features as it’s special guest musician Barry Finnerty, the former guitarist for many legendary artists, including The Crusaders, The Brecker Brothers, Hubert Laws, Billy Cobham and many more. Other guests on the album are Graeme Flowers (trumpet) who has played with everyone from The Sunburst Band, to Kylie Minogue and even Clint Eastwood! Saxophonist Andy Ross also appears on the album, having worked with Incognito and The Herbaliser amongst many other bands. The main vocalist on the album is Fraser Jowle, who has recorded with dance producer JD73 (Z Records). The other guest vocalist is Cherri V, who is backing singer to UK pop star Jessie J. The album contains 10 tracks; 9 original compositions, in addition to a cover of the classic Beatles song Eleanor Rigby.



You can listen to the best of Afro Elements on our Featured Artists Airtime Program on

Mondays, Thursday, Saturday and Sundays at 18h CET on OneLuvFM

Out of the Centre

bottom of page