top of page
  • Facebook Metallic
  • Twitter Metallic
  • YouTube Metallic
  • Soundcloud Metallic
  • Myspace Metallic
  • Instagram Metallic

Bio :


Chris Standring returns in 2014 with another musical left turn with Don't Talk, Dance! - A deep European progressive soul-jazz-dance influenced project featuring the best funk and soul studio musicians in Los Angeles. This 13 track set (with 2 bonus cuts) features Chris as arranger, orchestrator and producer, along with his signature solo jazz and fusion guitar sounds.


Drawing on 70's style funk and soul inspiration, Chris raises the bar once again with an album that is impossible to sit still to. The first radio single “Sneakin' Out The Front Door”, features Chris on guitar talkbox, and harks back to a time reminiscent of early Jeff Beck, or Herbie Hancock, with a hook that is clearly all Chris Standring. Don't Talk Dance! is released March 4th, 2014.

On Don’t Talk, Dance!, Chris Standring delivers a collection of irresistibly funky, compositionally sophisticated tunes that, yes, work well as dance music but also hold up under a close listen. The British-born guitarist draws from a wide range of genres, including jazz, funk, blues, pop, R&B, club and electronica. He layers instruments and patterns, varies tempos and adds electronic effects, vocal accents and spoken-word snippets to create intricate, highly textured tracks built atop funk grooves.


We dare you to sit still during the percussive “Sky High,” an electro-dance number driven by a mesmerizing groove and featuring atmospheric keyboards from Standring’s longtime collaborator Rodney Lee. Or the horn-accented “Inside Outside,” with a funky guitar melody that will linger in your mind long after the cut is over. Standring’s talkbox gets a star turn during the laidback “Sneakin’ Out the Front Door,” and “Scatterfunk” opens with a ’70s-style funk groove that gives way to a slower, string-enhanced jam.

Standring departs from the album’s dance vibe for “Nothing Lasts Forever.” A poignant ballad spotlighting Standring on acoustic guitar, it closes this high-energy, elaborately produced album simply and eloquently.


You can listen to the best of Chris Standring on our Featured Artists Airtime Program on

Mondays, Thursday, Saturday and Sundays at 18h CET on OneLuvFM

Don't Talk Dance

bottom of page